Abdelmadjid Tebboune makes a partial cabinet reshuffle for the Algerian government

Algerian President Abdelmadjid Tebboune on Sunday made a partial cabinet reshuffle, and signed a decree to dissolve the National People’s Assembly (lower house of Parliament).

Seven ministers have been discharged, including Industry Minister Farhat Ait Ali, Energy Minister Abdelmadjid Attar, Minister of Water Resources Arezki Barraki, Tourism Minister Mohamed Hamidou, Environment Minister Nassira Bengarrats, Minister of Public Works Farouk Chiali, and Minister of Statistics and Digitalization Mounir Khaled Berrah.

Tebboune signed a decree to partially reshuffle the cabinet, noting that Abdelaziz Djerad has been maintained as the prime minister, the official APS news agency quoted a statement of the President Office as saying.

Tebboune has appointed Mohamed Bacha as the new industry minister, Mohamed Arkab, the minister of energy and mines, Kamel Nasri, the minister of transport and public works, Mustapha Kamel Mihoubi, the minister of water resources, Mohamed Ali Boughazi, the tourism minister, Tarek Belaribi, the minister of housing and urbanism, Dalila Boudjemaa, the environment minister, and Hocine Charhabil, the minister of statistics and digitalization.

Tebboune also signed a decree to dissolve the lower house of the parliament, the APS reported.

The president pledged a couple of days ago in a speech to the nation that he would reshuffle the cabinet and dissolve the National People’s Assembly.

He added that early parliamentary election will be held within three months after the dissolution of the parliament.

Such changes came on the eve of the second anniversary of the popular uprising on Feb. 22, 2019, which forced former President Abdelaziz Bouteflika to resign and led to the imprisonment of several top politicians and businessmen over corruption charges.


Arab Observer

Related Articles

Back to top button