Sudan: A constitutional Decree Grants Autonomy to Blue Nile, South Kordofan Regions

Sudan: Abdel Fattah Al-Burhan, head of Sudan’s Transitional Sovereign Council issued a constitutional decree granting the Blue Nile and South Kordofan regions autonomy.

The decree specified that the management system for the two areas shall be in accordance with Article 8 of Chapter 3 of the Juba Agreement for Peace of Sudan.

It should be noted that Article 8 of Chapter 3 stipulates the following: “The two parties agree that without prejudice to the unity of the Sudan people and territory or the exclusive, joint or remaining powers, the two regions shall enjoy self-government in which the powers stipulated in this agreement shall be exercised.”

Buthaina Ibrahim Dinar, Minister of Federal Government circulated a message to the governors about what was stated in the decree, explaining in her speech that the system of governance in the two regions will be in accordance with the comprehensive arrangements contained in the Juba Agreement, and the federal ministries were also addressed in this regard.


The seventh article of the same chapter specified (defining the two areas), where it was stated in “item 7/1” that the state of the Blue Nile region means the current state of the Blue Nile.

And it was stated in item “7/2” that the state of Southern Kordofan – Nuba Mountains means the state of Southern Kordofan – the present Nuba Mountains.

Mohamed Salih Yasin, First Undersecretary of the Federal Ministry of Governance explained that the issuance of this decree dealt with the most complex issues in the system of governance in the three regions, and the roots of the causes of war in them, which is an important and advanced step in implementing the Juba Agreement.

As for item “7/3”, it specified the state of West Kordofan with its current status, provided that the Conference of the Government of the Sudan determines its borders with the state of South Kordofan – Nuba Mountains.


Arab Observer

Related Articles

Back to top button